As veterans of America’s armed forces, we’ve seen firsthand how dictators like Vladimir Putin use oil and gas as political weapons. Dictators like Putin make it easier for oil and gas CEOs to price gouge the American people. They then use those enormous profits for stock buybacks and executive bonuses. These executives care about their profits, not our national security.

Real energy independence is only possible if we break free from oil and gas, crack down on price gouging and invest in cheaper, cleaner renewable energy.

Putin’s war in Ukraine is a powerful reminder of the risks of allowing our economy to be held hostage by fossil fuel companies. It makes America dependent on the decisions of hostile foreign leaders and subject to corporate greed. We can’t drill our way to energy independence. We can speed up the replacement of fossil fuels through renewable energy technologies that are available today. Increasing production of clean energy will make it more affordable for Americans. We must quickly invest in manufacturing and deploying wind, solar, electric vehicles, geothermal, batteries, and other clean energy technology.

When we were called to serve and protect our nation, we showed up. Congress: the American people are now calling on you for action. It’s time to deliver true energy security and invest in a clean energy economy that reduces the power hostile foreign leaders have on our economy, our national security, and our wallets.


Norm Seip – Lieutenant General, Retired (Air Force)

Greg Douquet – Colonel, Retired (Marine Corps)

Don Moss – Major, Retired (Air Force)

Ted Adair – Former Captain (Army)

Sean Becker – Former Lieutenant (Navy)

David Callaway – Former Lieutenant Commander (Navy)

Michael Callender – Former Captain (Army)

Kelsey Campbell – Former Staff Sergeant (Air Force)

Stelian Cincu – Former Petty Officer 3rd Class (Navy)

Alex Cornell du Houx – Former Major (Marine Corps)

Ryan Edwards – Former Lieutenant (Navy)

Danny Finan – Former Captain (Army)

Quamid Francis – Former Sergeant (Marine Corps)

Jonathan Gensler – Former Captain (Army)

Phillip Gilfus – Former Captain (Army)

Aaron Gladd – Former First Lieutenant (Army)

Janessa Goldbeck – Former Captain (Marine Corps)

Tim Hade – Former Captain (Air Force)

Dennis McGinn – Vice Admiral, Retired (Navy)

Hal Donahue – Lieutenant Colonel, Retired (Air Force)

Ken Harbaugh – Former Lieutenant (Navy)

Mike Henchen – Former Captain (Army)

Liston Jackson – Former Petty Officer 2nd Class (Coast Guard)

Kevin Johnson – Former Captain (Army)

Kafi A. Joseph – Former Major (Army)

Julian Kilcullen – Former Captain (Marine Corps)

Roger Knudson – Former Corporal (Marines)

Nat Kreamer – Former Lieutenant (Navy)

Andrea Marr – Former Lieutenant (Navy)

Bert McDermitt – Former Chief Warrant Officer 2 (National Guard)

Jesse Medlong – Former Petty Officer 1st Class (Navy)

Dan Misch – Former Lieutenant (Navy)

Scott Misico – Former Specialist (Army)

Roger Misso – Former Lieutenant Commander (Navy)

Tom Mullens – Former Petty Officer 3rd Class (Navy)

Len Hering – Rear Admiral, Retired (Navy)

Mark Nevitt – Commander, Retired (Navy)

Benjamin Parry – Former Captain (Army)

Andrew Person – Former Captain (Army)

Jon Powers – Former Captain (Army)

Frank Reichert – Former Petty Officer 2nd Class (Navy)

Paul Rieckhoff – Former First Lieutenant (Army)

Patrick Ryan – Former Captain (Army)

Frank Santiago – Former Petty Officer 2nd Class (Navy)

Dan Sawmiller – Specialist (National Guard)

Samantha Sawmiller – Former Sergeant (Marine Corps)

Taylor Searcy – Former Lieutenant (Navy)

Sam Stowers – Former Captain (Army)

Heather Takle – Former Captain (Marine Corps)

Jack Tracey – Former Seaman Apprentice (Navy)

Hai Tu – Major (Reserves)

Eli Williamson – Former Staff Sergeant (Army)

Michael Wu – Captain (Army Reserves)